Check out our 2016-2017 season!

Ottawa Jazz Orchestra

Canada's symphonic jazz orchestra presents its twelfth season

About the Orchestra

The Ottawa Jazz Orchestra (OJO), based in Ottawa and founded in 2006, brings together many of Canada’s finest professional jazz and symphony orchestra musicians under the direction of bassist Adrian Cho. This unique ensemble has garnered kudos from both critics and audiences for its highly entertaining, innovative and educational presentations of seminal jazz-centric music performed by a wide range of ensembles including small chamber jazz groups, repertory orchestras, neophonic orchestras and a full symphonic jazz orchestra. The OJO’s broad repertoire of music includes original compositions; the gamut of jazz and pre-jazz repertory from as far back as 1850; and jazz-influenced neoclassical works. In addition to a full season of concerts at the National Arts Centre, the orchestra frequently performs at the invitation of event organisers including the National Capital Commission, the City of Ottawa and various festivals.

2016 – 2017 Season

This season the OJO has relocated to the “Back Stage” venue at the National Arts Centre (NAC) while renovations are under way on the NAC Fourth Stage. Although the temporary venue is slightly smaller we’ve still managed to program an exciting season featuring both small and large ensembles. Read about each concert below.

For this season we are offering two special packages. Buy tickets for all four concerts for $100 (save $20) or for any three concerts for $80 (save $10). These packages will only be available in person at the NAC Box Office or by calling 613-947-7000 x620.

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Intimate Ellington

The OJO gets intimate with the Duke in an evening of swinging vocal and instrumental music penned by Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn. Featuring a dynamic eleven-piece ensemble including vocalist Diane Nalini. The programme will include Ellington’s exciting and innovative music from his time at the Cotton Club as well as contemporary music from later decades. Don’t miss this season opener!

Thursday, November 10, 2016

Freedom Fighters

The OJO pays homage to jazz musicians who fought for freedom through their music. Listen to the fiery sounds of civil rights and the Black Church with music by Charles Mingus, Art Blakey, Freddie Hubbard, Duke Ellington, John Coltrane and more performed by a small group with saxophonists Sandy Gordon and David Renaud, trumpeter Ed Lister, pianist Peter Hum, bassist Adrian Cho, and Mark Rehder on drums.

Saturday, March 18, 2017

From Rio to Paris

Join vocalist Diane Nalini and an eight-piece group from the OJO as they perform joyful and intimate songs from Brazil and France, alongside some new original material composed and arranged by Diane. Don’t miss this stellar lineup with vocalist Diane Nalini, saxophonist Sandy Gordon, violinist Laura Nerenberg, violist Kathryn Cobbler, cellist Dan Parker, pianist Peter Hum, guitarist Magnus Paulson, bassist Adrian Cho and percussionist Alvaro de Minaya.

Celebrated vocalist Diane Nalini composes and sings in four languages. She has recorded four albums, sung at jazz festivals around the globe, and given gala performances for President Bill Clinton and Sir Paul McCartney. She was nominated for the Grand Prix de Jazz General Motors at the 2002 Montreal International Jazz Festival, and was one of two finalists for the UK’s Young Jazz Vocalist of the Year awards for 2001. Diane’s original songs have also been featured in television, independent films, as well as the Hollywood movie “Charlotte Grey” starring Cate Blanchett, which featured her song “L’amour d’autrefois”, co-written with UK arranger/composer Dick Walter.

Saturday, April 29, 2017


The OJO marks the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation with an all-Canadian program. Featuring a unique 14-piece chamber jazz ensemble performing a special arrangement of Oscar Peterson’s Canadiana Suite arranged by trumpeter Rick Rangno along with tributes to many other Canadian jazz composers and musicians arranged by Rick and bassist Adrian Cho.



All of these live recordings from past concerts are archival quality and not intended for redistribution. We hope you enjoy listening!

  1. Portrait of Louis Armstrong (New Orleans Suite III) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Rick Rangno (trumpet) 2:59
  2. Fontainebleau Ottawa Jazz Chamber Orchestra 4:53
  3. Avalon Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring David Renaud (clarinet) 3:08
  4. Bluebird of Delhi (Mynah) (Far East Suite II) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring David Renaud (clarinet) 3:10
  5. Isfahan (Far East Suite III) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Sandy Gordon (alto saxophone) 3:52
  6. Amad (Far East Suite VIII) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Moe Wozniak (trombone) 4:22
  7. Springsville (Miles Ahead I) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Lina Allemano (trumpet) 3:21
  8. Blues for Pablo (Miles Ahead VI) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Lina Allemano (trumpet) 5:43
  9. New Rhumba (Miles Ahead VII) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Lina Allemano (trumpet) 4:34
  10. The Meaning of the Blues (Miles Ahead VIII) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Lina Allemano (trumpet) 2:41
  11. Lament (Miles Ahead IX) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Lina Allemano (trumpet) 2:12
  12. Arab Dance Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Sandy Gordon (alto saxophone) and Scott Poll (clarinet) 5:13
  13. Paganini Caprice XXIV Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Laura Nerenberg (violin) 3:26
  14. Tres Corazones (Cuban Fire VII) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra 3:21
  15. Chicago Concerto - Stomp (IV) Ottawa Jazz Orchestra featuring Mike Tremblay (baritone saxophone) 4:49
  16. Burrito Borracho Ottawa Jazz Orchestra 4:00


These clips are from a 2010 performance of selections from Duke Ellington‘s Sacred Concerts with special guests Capital Vox and featured soloists Doreen Taylor Claxton, soprano, Marcus Nance, bass-baritone and Melissa Roy, tap dancer.


Send Us a Message

8 + 12 =